jump to navigation

Lullaby for the Sun that Rises in Me April 12, 2010

Posted by journeywomanchi in Uncategorized.
trackback

This is for my baby boy –

The sun that rises in me.

More than love and more than joy,

I pray that you’ll be free.

And even though this life

is full of tests of loyalty,

I’m sure that you’ll be ever true

with eyes wide open to see.

Be brave, be strong and if ever wrong

Admit your flaws to me.

Because I am here to dry your tears

and to teach integrity

And when the crippling doubts of fears

attempt to bring you down

I’m somewhere close, I’m somewhere near

to help find your crown.

This for my baby boy –

The sun that rises in me.

More than love and more than joy,

I pray that you’ll be free.

I call on all protective spirits

to guide your destiny

Chineke! I know you hear it,

Bless this growing seed.

Help him be a helpful hand

to all humanity.

Teach him love of our motherland,

to restore her dignity.

Open his heart to serve our people

and do it constructively

Show him the road, I know he’ll build it –

this sun that rises in me.

This is for my baby boy –

This sun that rises in me.

More than love and more than joy,

I pray that you’ll be free.

Comments»

1. Tambra - May 13, 2010

What a beautiful poem/song for your new son! I am definitely using it for my son if you don’t mind and would love to share it on my website. I hope you can come to the Putting Us First event at St Teresa of Avila, 13th and V St SE DC from 10a-2p this Saturday. Your spirit is requested.


Leave a Reply

